Renew Mizzou wins MSA presidential election

53% of voters voted for Renew Mizzou and 47% voted for Ready to Roar.

By Joy Mazur

The Renew Mizzou slate won the Missouri Students Association Election, as announced by MSA Wednesday at approximately 6:30 p.m.

President-elect Landon Brickey and Vice President-elect Emily Smith defeated candidates Will Shafer and Key Avingston-Banks by a margin of 134 votes — 1173 to 1039.

The Renew Mizzou main campaign platform include better mental health resources and education, support for faculty and students of color, COVID-19 health and well-being and sexual health education and assault prevention. Additionally, the platform is dedicated to improving parking and transportation, supporting the Counseling Center and striving towards a zero-waste campus.

Brickey said that he and Smith are excited to serve the student body.

“We are so grateful for everyone who supported us and we can’t wait to Renew Mizzou,” he said.

Brickey and Smith will replace current MSA President Anthony Tretter and Vice President Kara Hjerstedt.

The General Election also elected three new Senators. Luke Pittman and Sawyer Bohannan will serve the College of Arts and Science and Lucas Hayes will serve the Trulaske College of Business.

Edited by Eli Hoff |

Share: Facebook / Twitter / Google+

Article comments


This item does not have any approved comments yet.

Post a comment

Please provide a full name for all comments. We don't post obscene, offensive or pure hate speech.